10th NASS: Ganduje congratulates Akpabio, Abbas, Jibrin, others

Former governor of Kano state, Dr. Abdullahi Ganduje has congratulated the new Senate President, Godswill Akpabio and Speaker of the House of Representatives, Tajuddeen Abbas on their election as presiding officers of the 10th National Assembly.

A statement issued by ex-Kano Commissioner for Information and Internal Affairs, Muhammad Garba, also rejoiced with the Deputy Senate President, Senator Barau Jibrin and the Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Benjamin Kalu.

The governor said the presiding officers deserved to lead to both chambers of the 10th National Assembly and urged them to strive to defend the independence of the legislature and to protect the rights of Nigerians.

He noted that the elected officers have distinguished themselves in their respective callings and in the National Assembly where they have earned the respect and admiration of the majority of members as well as Nigerians as patriotic citizens who can be trusted with leadership at high levels.

Ganduje prayed to Allah to guide them as they begin to lead the nation’s legislative body.