NJC finally unveils 11 justices for Supreme Court bench

The National Judicial Council (NJC) has finally recommended 11 successful justices for appointment to the bench of the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

The council on Wednesday evening made the recommendation along with six Heads of Courts and 26 other Judicial Officers

The new justices for the apex court were unveiled by the NJC at its 104 meeting on December 6, 2023, held in Abuja.

The unveiling came barely two weeks after the Chairman of the Council and Chief Justice of Nigeria CJN, Olukayode Ariwoola revealed that the apex court would, in his own time, get 21 constitutionally prescribed full complements.

A statement by the NJC Director of Information, Mr Soji Oye, listed those recommended to include Justices Justices Jummai Hannatu Sankey, Chidiebere Nwaoma Uwa, Chioma Egondu Nwosu-Iheme Haruna Simon Tsammani and Moore Aseimo A. Adumein.

The rest are Justices Obande Festus Ogbuiny Stephen Jonah Adah, Habeeb Adewale O. Abiru, Jamilu Yammama Tukur, Abubakar Sadiq Umarand Mohammed Baba Idris.

Also recommended for appointment is one Justice for the Court of Appeal, six Heads of Courts, and 26 other Judicial Officers.

Justice Ahmed Ramat Mohammed of the Federal High Court in Abuja was elevated to the Court of Appeal.

Others recommended for appointments include:

Justice Joel Filibus Agya as Chief Judge for Taraba State

Justice Umar Abubakar as Chief Judge for Kebbi State

Hon. Kadi Sadiq Usman Mukhtar as Grand Kadi for the Sharia Court of Appeal, Kebbi State.

Justice A. O. Femi-Segun emerged as President, Customary Court of Appeal for Ogun State, Justice Alfred Yakubu as President, Customary Court of Appeal for Taraba

Tajudeen M. Abdulganiyu as President, Customary Court of Appeal for Oyo State.

Amaebi Ibomo Orukari received a recommendation for appointment as Bayelsa High Court Judge. Akinyemi Martins Ayodele was recommended for Ogun State High Court, and three others—Ama Edet Ekpo, Theresa Ansa Agom, and Jalarth Ogar Agim—for the High Court of Cross River State.

Three Kadis were recommended for Zamfara Sharia Court of Appeal, including Aminu Abdullahi Gusau, Usman Hassan Gummi, and Hadi Sani.

The NJC statement indicated that two Kadis were appointed for Nasarawa State Sharia Court of Appeal, namely Abubakar Ahmad Tijjani and Aliyu Ibrahim Ebbema.

Also recommended are nine persons for Kano State High Court, including Fatima Adamu, Hauwa Lawal Umar, Musa Ahmad, Musa Daihuru Mohammed, Farida Rabiu Danbappa, Halima Aliyu Nasir, Aisha Mahmoud, Adam Abdullahi, and Hanif Sanusi Yusuf.

Nasarawa State High Court received four nominees, comprising Esther Mami Ejeh, Ibrahim Dauda Shekarau, Musa Muhammad Dallah, and Makama Tanze Benjamin.

Two Judges were recommended for appointment to the Ogun State Customary Court of Appeal: Awoyomi Bolanle Adenike and Lawal Adeniyi Olusanya, while one was recommended for the Bayelsa State Customary Court of Appeal: Opokuma David Lawrence.

The statement added that all recommended candidates for the Supreme Court Bench would be sworn in after the approval of their recommendation by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu and the subsequent confirmation of their appointment by the Senate.

Similarly, the various heads of court recommended would be sworn in upon the approval of their appointments by their respective state governors and the subsequent confirmation by their State Houses of Assembly.

(Daily Post)

Join our new WhatsApp community! Click this link to receive your daily dose of NEWS FLASH content. We also treat our community members to special offers, promotions, and adverts from us and our partners. If you don’t like our community, you can check out any time you like.